Tags

, , , ,

Ok, 3 months in India, I have no idea where to start. No point regretting I should have written while in India. So, I’ll start with the easy part. Pictures. And write about them later.

Say Cheese….

After landing in India from a 15 hour flight and spending a couple of overfed days with family (that could care less about the extra pounds around my waist, convinced that I didnt get any good food in America and so insisting every hour that I needed to eat more) I took off to Kashmir, quoted as “the heaven on earth”.

I won’t lie, I was skeptical. I have been to Colorado, Veil, the Rockies. Must be something like that, is what I was telling myself the whole 1.20 hour flight from Delhi. And to my surprise, I proved myself wrong, the minute the Himalayas started showing off their peaks to the airplane windows. And I couldnt help but utter the exact words I had read about Kashmir before I booked the tickets.

“Gar firdaus, ruhe zamin ast, hamin asto, hamin asto, hamin ast.” (If there is a heaven on earth, its here, its here, its here.) – Mughal Emperor Jahangir on Kashmir….

There is no way to explain the beauty of Kashmir in words and an amateur photographer like me couldnt even do justice to it in pictures. But I tried my best. Here are a few clicks from my week in Kashmir covering the Dal Lake, Sonmarg, Gulmarg and Pahalgam. However, don’t form any opinions from these pictures. You have to be there to feel the serenity, to experience the vastness of the place that couldnt fit in a single frame of a camera, to be in heaven – Alive.

